Margaret Kaine’s latest Edwardian Romantic Suspense

Sent to the workhouse as a child, all Ella Hathaway can remember is a voice whispering, `Dearie, promise you will never forget what you saw. Your Ma was killed deliberate . . . and someone oughter pay for it.’

When young, wealthy spinster Letitia Fairchild witnesses Ella being ill-treated, she takes her in as a scullery maid. But as Ella grows up, she is determined to find the truth about her mother’s tragic death and appeals to Letitia for help, revealing to her the contents of her only personal possession, a black silk purse. Intrigued, Letitia agrees to begin a quest to solve the mystery of Ella’s past. But neither could have imagined the astonishing and dramatic consequences.

From the miseries of life in a London workhouse, to the splendour of a beautiful mansion, will Ella find the love and security she longs for?

Available in paperback, ebook, large print and audio editions.

Margaret Kaine’s Potteries Sagas

Edwardian Romantic Suspense from Margaret Kaine

Short Stories from Margaret Kaine

‘Margaret has the ability to keep the reader intrigued right to the last pages.
She is an inspirational writer who researches her subject thoroughly and
does not rely on inconsequential details to fill the pages’